What is CTR?
This post will explain why CTR is important, who uses it, calculates it, and improves it.
CTR is a metric that a marketer uses to determine the quality of an advertising link. It's calculated based on the ratio of the number of people who see the link to the number of clicks on it. The more clicks, the more effective the advertising link is within a campaign. The calculation formula looks like this:

To determine the effectiveness of a marketing campaign, you need to divide the number of those who were interested in the advertisement by those who saw it, and convert it to a percentage:
CTR = (Number of clicks / Number of impressions) x 100%
Why count
You need to know the click-through rate to understand the quality of your ad and the cost per click. The higher the rate, the less each user click costs the advertiser.
Why increase
To optimize advertising costs. Clickable ads are cheaper. Advertising links with a low CTR, firstly, force you to spend more money on advertising, and secondly, they may disappear from the search results and not be shown to users.
What determines CTR
The click-through rate is influenced by:
- niche and competition in it. For some industries, 1% is considered a normal result, while for others it signals the insufficiently effective advertising campaign;
- the type of audience to which the advertising is addressed. Ads that you show to a cold audience are not clickable;
- the selling proposition. Describe unique benefits;
- Keyword relevance. Ads with targeted brand queries have higher click-through rates;
- Ad quality. Neat images and error-free text—check your ad before publishing. Also, if your banner responds to the cursor or offers a mini-game, this significantly increases CTR.
In contextual advertising
In this case, CTR is influenced by:
- headline, it should be interesting and relevant to the search query;
- position in search results - search engines display ads on the first page that can satisfy user requests;
- allocated budget - funds allocated for advertising affect CTR, but are not
- considered a determining factor;
- cost per click - search engines take bids into account.
In display advertising
CTR in this format depends on the appearance of the ad. User engagement is affected by:
- image brightness;
- ad size;
- the presence of animation and interactive elements.
Calculation examples
Let's give an example. Let's assume an ad was seen 1,000 times and had 30 clicks. In this case, the CTR is 3%.
You can also calculate the CTR not only for a single ad message, but for the entire campaign. If in one month the number of ad impressions is 8000 with the number of clicks of 1500, and in another - 9000 with 1300 clicks, the calculations will look like this:
CTR 1 = (1500/8000)*100 = 18.7%;
CTR 2 = (1300/9000)*100 = 14.4%;
Campaign CTR (1500+1300)/(8000+9000)*100= 16.4%;
What CTR is considered good in SEO?
The ultimate goal of any SEO is a high position in search results. Ignite Visibility's study analyzed 5,000 queries.
The results were as follows:
1 — 20.5%
2 — 13.32%
3 — 13.14%
4 — 8.98%
5 — 6.73%
6 — 7.61%
7 — 6.92%
8 — 5.52%
9 — 7.95%

The best way to increase CTR is to climb in issuance.
How to Improve CTR for SEO
- Create a list of quality keywords.
- Focus on creating quality content.
- Develop a link attraction and interlinking strategy.
What is a good CTR in PPC?
PPC is a pay-per-click strategy. It is used in contextual advertising, when the advertiser pays for every click generated by the site.
A study published by Wordstream says that across all industries, the average CTR for search advertising is 1.91%.
Dating services demonstrate an above-average rate of about 3.4%. Finance, B2B, services, and technology are doing similarly: average CTRs are 2.65%, 2.55%, 2.4%, and 2.38%.
On the other hand, industries like legal services, e-commerce, or industrial services struggle for spots with minimal CTRs.
For PPC, rates around 3-5% are considered excellent.
How to improve CTR for PPC
- Place special offers.
- Use powerful CTAs.
- Use long-tail keywords to reach a narrow audience.
- Use Google Ads and Yandex.Direct extensions.
What CTR is considered good in display advertising?
The tech industry shows the best results in display advertising. The average CTR is 0.84%.
Legal services, dating, and personal services showed an above-average CTR of 0.52%.
How to improve CTR for display advertising
- Include primary keywords in the display URL.
- Use long-tail keywords and CTAs.
What is considered a good CTR in email newsletters?
Average click-through rates for email newsletters hover around 4%.
The difference is due to the industry. For example, the travel industry has a CTR of 2.17%. And the automotive services industry received a click-through rate of 8.3%.
How to Improve Email CTR
- Use a clear call to action (CTA).
- Make sure you're using responsive design.
- If you include images, make sure they load.
- Use A/B testing to determine effective content.
What's a Good CTR on Social Media?

In this case, a good CTR will again depend on which channel you use.
Twitter has the highest overall rating - 2%. LinkedIn is among the outsiders with an average CTR of 0.06%.
Instagram with a result of 0.94% and Facebook with 0.72% are in the middle.
How to improve CTR for social networks
- Use powerful CTAs.
- Increase the relevance of content, use gated content.
- Use action words.
- Use images that attract attention.
Why a high CTR alone is not enough
A high click-through rate is not the main goal of a marketing campaign. The higher the CTR, the lower the cost per click and the better the position in the search engine. However, this does not mean that a potential client will respond to an ad with a call or message. It is important to track other metrics of the advertising campaign's effectiveness. For example, conversion. An ad will be useless if it's frequently clicked, but the advertiser doesn't receive orders or profit.
CTR in Marketing
Advertising will attract traffic that is highly likely to convert into customers. A high CTR isn't considered a guarantee of receiving orders, but it should be taken into account when tracking the performance of a marketing ad. CTR can help identify ineffective ads that are not worth wasting your budget on.
